Archive for May 22nd, 2012

May 22, 2012

Random Observations as of Late #4

– Being a foreigner in northern Japan, I am stared at every day. But on this day, I was stared at even more so than usual. And it was more obvious than usual.
One morning I got on my bike and started to go to work. I passed the trash collection area and realized that the day was plastic bottle day. I had my plastic bottles all bagged up in my storage area, so it would be no problem to double back and grab them. I also noticed an old man standing there pretty much in the middle of the road, having just put his own trash down or something. I think he lived in the house across from apartment building B. He watched me ride up and continued to watch me, just standing there. It was awkward.
Anyway, I doubled back with my bike to my shed, picked up my bags of plastic bottles, and went back to the trash area.
The old man was still there, staring at me from the middle of the road. He watched me put down my trash and continue to ride along to work. It completely weirded me out that he had stayed there to watch what I was doing. What the heck.
At least I got those bottles disposed of properly.

– Spring is officially here. I can bike to work without wearing a jacket and it is glorious. Golden Week in Hirosaki was rainy, but we are seeing sun a lot more now and it is much warmer. I am beginning to feel alive again!

– Speaking of feeling alive—On May 20th (Sunday), we went to a music festival called Mountain Rock (Yama Rock) up on Mt. Iwaki. Kyle and his band were playing, along with a particular artist I’ve wanted to see: Tatetakako. Tori drove us up in the morning (11ish) and we didn’t leave till around 5pm. The sky was clear and basically cloudless. I was in heaven. We all parked ourselves on the huge tarp at the small event and hung out, listening to music. The sun made me feel warm and fuzzy. I even took a nap on the tarp at around 3 when I got tired. The music was really good and I always love seeing Kyle and the College Try play. And Tatetakako was unreal… Her voice is amazing.

CIMG7124

– I watched The Avengers movie and I have to say that I have not liked a movie this much in a very long time. Not since Inception or Avatar. Avengers doesn’t come out here in Japan until August 17th (which is a crime against humanity… how can anyone wait that long?), so… I got my hands on a copy online. I’ve watched it 3 times already. If you are looking for a good movie (and it is out in your country!), go see it.

avengers_movie_poster

– Kimberly taught me how to do something really neat the other week. She taught me how to put my hair up into a sock bun! You take a sock, cut off the toe, and roll it up so that it resembles a donut. Then you put your hair into a high ponytail with a regular hair tie. You take your ponytail (works best with long ponytails like mine) and roll it around (into?) the sock until the shape resembles a bun on the top of your head. I love this new hairstyle and it is so popular in Japan.

IMG_1351

– I can’t believe I will be in Austin, Texas in less than 2 months. I’m going HOME! I will take the nightbus from Hirosaki to Tokyo on the evening of July 10th and fly out the next day on the 11th. 19 consecutive days of NO work! I am using up a bunch of my paid vacation on this trip (I get 20 days per year). And I can’t hardly wait! It will have been just about one year since my mom and I put Austin in my rearview mirror…

– My supervisor put together my schedule for the next year. All the schools have applied for my school visits from now until next March. I’ll be going to 12 different schools over the course of the year, 4 junior high schools and 8 elementary. I have 118 school visits this year… I am going to be pretty busy!

The Day of the Vegetable: This week I don’t have any school visits, so I’m in the office all week. Reminds me of those long March weeks when I did not teach… But anyway, I was sitting at my desk, ready to chew my arm off because I was so hungry. I had gone through all of my snacks and was seriously considering going downstairs to the co-op to buy some rice crackers. But just then, the director walked in and presented the girls in the office with a present. He gave each of us three farmer-grown carrots from the town he had just come from. ^^ I promptly ate two of them, which kept me satiated until it was time to go. …But wait, there’s more! When I was about to leave, my co-worker came in with a huge box of fresh asparagus that his farmer friend had grown! All the office members received a bag of beautiful asparagus from this box… It is making an appearance in my lunch today.

– Speaking of veggies… I would just like to say that I am extremely happy that I can now eat a salad without freezing my butt off. I am one of those people who gets extremely cold after eating (all my energy is going to digesting, I guess), so eating fresh veggies normally makes me feel quite cold. But now that it is warmer, I can eat all the salads I want! I missed salad season.

– Lastly… About life in general… I was feeling pretty low and lonely after my aunt left on the 9th. I felt homesick (among other things) and really just wanted to go back to the US. I even started questioning whether my decision to stay another year was the best one. HOWEVER, I am happy to report that this week I am doing much better and starting to get back on track. Life goes on! As much as I miss Texas, I have to remember that my life here is pretty great too. I’m young, I’m supposed to be having adventures.