Mother Teresa Middle School Madlibs

Okay, it should be “Junior High” School Madlibs, but “Middle School” just sounded better.

This is the madlib that I created last week with my second-years that I love dearly. I have never laughed so hard in class. My face hurt, my stomach hurt, and I was doubled over with laughter for quite a few minutes. Maybe it is a “you had to be there” kinda thing, but… I still think this is funny.

I had to design some activities based on the Mother Teresa reading in the textbook. I had an idea that would take up about 20 minutes of the class time, but was at a loss at what to do for the other 15 that I was in charge of (the Japanese teacher was in charge of the rest of the class). But then it came to me…

“Eureka! Madlibs! I shall make a madlib out of this boring Mother Teresa story!”

For reference, here is the original story:

Sister Teresa opened a house for the dying and, after that, another house for children without families. Sister Teresa loved everyone like a mother so her name changed to Mother Teresa.
One day, Mother Teresa found a dying man. No one would go near him because he was very sick. Mother Teresa and her friends took care of him. The man asked, “Why are you helping me?” Mother Teresa answered, “Because I love you.”
She once explained, “If you feel that no one loves you, it is true starvation.”
In 1979, Mother Teresa received the Nobel Peace Prize. She said, “Love begins at home. Smile at each other. Help each other. Then, more and more love will grow.”
On September 5, 1997, Mother Teresa passed away at the age of 87. But today, around 4,700 sisters in 132 countries continue to help the poorest of the poor. Teresa’s work of love goes on. She once said, “Our work may look big, but it is only a drop in the ocean. But if we stop this work, the ocean will have one drop less.”

And then, from that story… This masterpiece was created:

Sister Himiko opened a house for the dying and, after that, another house for ice cream without socks. Sister Himiko watched everyone like a car so her name changed to Mother Himiko.

One day, Mother Himiko found a singing man. No one would go near him because he was very poor. Mother Himiko and her apples took care of him. The man asked, “Why are you helping me?” Mother Himiko answered, “Because I love you.”

She once explained, “If you feel that no Fuu loves you, it is true Shinji.”

In 1999, Mother Himiko received the Nobel Cat Prize. She said, “Mask begins at bathroom. Hit at each other. Chihiro each other. Then, more and more mask will grow.”

On Oct. 31, 2999, Mother Himiko passed away at the age of 1. But today, around 7 sisters in 5 countries help the poorest of the poor. Mother Himiko’s work of mask goes on. She once said, “Our work may look angry, but it is only a Lady Gaga in the ocean. But if we stop this work, the ocean will have one Lady Gaga less.”

We all read it together (each student read a sentence out loud in turn) and laughed together. I figured it was a good, nice break before they become 3rd years and have to study their butts off for the high school entrance examination.

The next day, I shared this with my supervisor and he laughed as well. I remember when I would get a book of madlibs in my stocking for Christmas. Those were the days.

I am just so happy that I can share this type of English word game with my students and that they can understand the humor. I need laughing and smiling in the classroom!

2 Comments to “Mother Teresa Middle School Madlibs”

  1. Great!! I found myself laughing too.I’m so glad you are
    having fun teaching.

  2. Wonderful to see you enjoying Japan

Leave a Reply

